Olympia

City of Olympia | Capital of Washington State

P.O. Box 1967, Olympia, WA 98507-1967

olympiawa.gov

November 18, 2021

Port of Olympia Commissioners 606 Columbia St. NW Suite 300 Olympia WA 98501

Dear, Joe Downing, District One Commissioner, Bill McGregor, District Two Commissioner and E.J. Zita, District Three Commissioner,

We, the Olympia Home Fund Advisory Board, are writing this letter in support of the proposal by the Thurston County Housing Authority to develop low-income senior housing at the site of the Oyo Hotel, at 1600 74th Ave SW, Tumwater.

This project to convert an underused hotel to low-income housing will add 58 low-income housing units for seniors to Thurston County. Of all the proposals reviewed by this board in 2021, the Thurston County Housing Authority proposal was the most cost-effective and had the shortest timetable of all the submissions we reviewed for funding in 2021. The project has the support of a willing property owner, approved funding, and cooperation from regional governments.

It has come to our attention that the Port of Olympia has not yet filed the necessary formal request for the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) to "release" this land from the airport. This is a limited contribution, to a regional priority for which the Thurston County Housing Authority has offered administrative support. We hope that recent reporting in The Olympian about resistance to this project is overstated. We urgently request that the Port of Olympia cooperate as a regional partner by completing the formal request to the FAA as soon as possible. This is a necessary step, without which this project cannot proceed. The resistance from both the Port Commission and executive leadership to this proposal is confusing.

We should not lose this unique opportunity to add affordable housing to our region cost-effectively. Our low-income seniors need your support.

Respectfully,

Lisa Vatske, Chair Trudy Soucoup, Vice Chair Krosbie Carter

Candace Jenkins Derek Harris Craig Chance Edward Cates

cc: Sam Gibboney, Executive Director

Shaylah Seymour Executive and Commission Coordinator
Port of Olympia Citizens Advisory Committee, (Cameron Wilson, GiGi McClure, Deborah Pattin, and Tom Szymoniak,: Daniel Sheppard Kevin Decker, and Joel Hansen